All Spin-Off's

123Skins - Tortoise Design
Aaron GmbH
Acuros
alvari GmbH
Apliki
AvailabilityPlus
Babbel
barcoo
Belegmeister GmbH
BetterTaxi (BetterTec GmbH)
CellDEG GmbH
Chargebox
Conatix Europe UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
CreativeQuantum GmbH
Cyano Biofuels
Cyano Biotech
Datalyze Solutions UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Decision Institute
ecodoc GmbH
emolyzr GmbH
FahrtenFuchs GmbH
famany UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Flexperto GmbH
greateyes
GreenLab Berlin UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
GroupEstate UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
IQP
kaputt.de UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Life Action Games GmbH
Ludufactur GmbH
Maschinendirigent (BM12 Software as a Solution GmbH)
Mind Intelligence UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Mondrian UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
moviepilot
MyParfuem
Nanofluor
netCCM
Newsenselab GmbH
nextplant UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
OFFTIME GmbH
Playotope
Pollion GmbH
poqit.berlin UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Prior Art Publishing
promethano GmbH
Quantiox
Scolibri UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Sennect UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Sentientic GmbH
Shoutr UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
SkillMap
sMarterials GmbH
sofatutor GmbH
studiVZ
survey research & evaluation GmbH
tazaldoo UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Tempelhove
TLTS
tvype
uberMetrics Technologies GmbH
UPcload
Userlutions GmbH
Vergangenheitsverlag
Vescape GmbH
Webpgr UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
WorkHub GmbH
Yomiko
ZIMMER Fahrradtaschen und Portemonnaies
ZPHU

CellDEG GmbH

CellDEG GmbH is a spin-off from the Institute of Biology at the Humboldt-University of Berlin. Members of the work group Cell Biology under the direction of Prof. Dr. Rudolf Ehwald developed the High-Density-Cultivation (HDC) method for an optimal CO2- and light supply of cyanobacteria and microalgae. Thus, the productivity of these photosynthesis performing microorganisms was increased several times in comparison to classical culture methods.
The technology is based on a highly efficient membrane-mediated CO2 transfer into thin, horizontally oriented and turbulently moved cell suspensions. In combination with high light intensities and nutrient enriched media, biomass concentration increases up to very high cell densities can be achieved in this way. In addition to the avoidance of carbon- and light limitations, the systems offer unique advantages such as negligible losses of CO2 and water vapor to the atmosphere, no high oxygen concentrations and very low shear stress for the cells.
On the basis of this technology CellDEG developed parallel screening- and analysis platforms as well as production cultivators for the laboratory scale. The various modular interchangeable platforms can be connected to a central control unit and enable a comfortable and time-saving workflow with their detachable disposable HD-cultivators.
The company markets these highly innovative cultivation systems, primarily on research facilities and biomass producers, which have to cultivate microalgae rapidly and reliably. The goal is the establishment of a culture methodology for photoautotrophic cultures, which allows reproducibility and comparability of experimental approaches across laboratory boundaries.
The further focus is the scaling of the technology on the technical scale specifically according to customer requirements.

Facts

Team:
Arne Wüstenberg
Dipl.-Biol. Lars Bähr
Dr. Robert Lehmann

Information:
CellDEG GmbH is a young biotech company specialized in innovative cultivation systems for microalgae. Based on our unique and patented membrane-mediated CO2 supply, CellDEG provides modular cultivation solutions that allow for fast and reliable production of biomass and natural products. CellDEG is aiming to establish a new standard in lab scale cultivation to exploit the full potential of photosynthesis performing microorganisms.

Year of Foundation: 2016
Institute: Department of Theoretical Biology
Mentor: Dr. Ralf Steuer

URL: www.celldeg.com

Alle Spin-Offs

123Skins - Tortoise Design
Aaron GmbH
Acuros
alvari GmbH
Apliki
AvailabilityPlus
Babbel
barcoo
Belegmeister GmbH
BetterTaxi (BetterTec GmbH)
BOUTIQ GmbH
CellDEG GmbH
Chargebox
Conatix Europe UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
CreativeQuantum GmbH
Cyano Biofuels
Cyano Biotech
Datalyze Solutions UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Decision Institute
ecodoc GmbH
emolyzr GmbH
FahrtenFuchs GmbH
famany UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Flexperto GmbH
greateyes
GreenLab Berlin UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
GroupEstate UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
IQP
kaputt.de UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Life Action Games GmbH
Ludufactur GmbH
Maschinendirigent (BM12 Software as a Solution GmbH)
Mind Intelligence UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Mondrian UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
moviepilot
MyParfuem
Nanofluor
netCCM
Newsenselab GmbH
nextplant UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
OFFTIME GmbH
Playotope
Pollion GmbH
poqit.berlin UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Prior Art Publishing
promethano GmbH
Quantiox
Scolibri UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Sennect UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Sentientic GmbH
Shoutr UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
SkillMap
sMarterials GmbH
sofatutor GmbH
studiVZ
Surfhero UG
survey research & evaluation GmbH
tazaldoo UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Tempelhove
TLTS
tvype
uberMetrics Technologies GmbH
UPcload
Userlutions GmbH
Vergangenheitsverlag
Vescape GmbH
Webpgr UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
WorkHub GmbH
Yomiko
ZIMMER Fahrradtaschen und Portemonnaies
ZPHU

CellDEG GmbH

Die CellDEG GmbH ist eine Ausgründung aus dem Institut der Biologie der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. Mitglieder der damaligen AG Zellbiologie unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Rudolf Ehwald entwickelten das High-Density-Cultivation (HDC)-Verfahren zur optimalen CO2- und Lichtversorgung von Cyanobakterien und Mikroalgen. Damit wurde die Produktivität dieser Photosynthese betreibenden Mikroorganismen, im Vergleich zu klassischen Kulturmethoden, um ein Vielfaches gesteigert.
Die Technologie basiert auf einem hocheffizienten membranvermittelten CO2-Transfer in dünne horizontal ausgerichtete und turbulent bewegte Zellsuspensionen. In Kombination mit starkem Licht und nährstoffangereicherten Medien können auf diese Weise bisher unerreichte volumen- und flächenbezogene Biomassekonzentrationszunahmen bis zu sehr hohen Zelldichten erzeugt werden.
Neben der Vermeidung der Kohlenstoff- und Lichtlimitation bieten die Systeme einzigartige Vorteile wie vernachlässigbar kleine Verluste von CO2 und Wasserdampf an die Atmosphäre, keine hohen Sauerstoffkonzentrationen und sehr geringem Scherstress für die Zellen.
Auf Grundlage dieser Technologie wurden von CellDEG parallele Screening- und Analyseplattformen genauso wie Produktionskultivatoren für den Labormaßstab entwickelt. Die modular austauschbaren Plattformen lassen sich an eine zentrale Steuereinheit anschließen und ermöglichen mit den abnehmbaren HD-Kultivatoren einen komfortablen und zeitsparenden Arbeitsablauf.
Die Gesellschaft vermarktet diese hochinnovativen Kultivierungssysteme vor allem an Forschungseinrichtungen und Biomasseproduzenten, die schnell und zuverlässig Mikroalgen vermehren müssen. Das Ziel ist die Etablierung einer standardisierten Kulturmethodik für photoautotrophe Kulturen, die eine laborübergreifende Reproduzierbarkeit von experimentellen Ansätzen zulässt.
Im weiteren Fokus steht die Skalierung der Technologie in den technischen Maßstab spezifisch nach Kundenanforderungen.

Randinfos

Gründer:
Arne Wüstenberg
Dipl.-Biol. Lars Bähr
Dr. Robert Lehmann

Informationen:
Die CellDEG GmbH ist ein junges Biotech-Unternehmen mit der Spezialisierung auf Kultursysteme für Mikroalgen. Basierend auf dem einzigartigen und patentierten Prinzip der membranvermittelten CO2 Versorgung bietet CellDEG seinen Kunden modulare Kultivierungslösungen, welche eine schnelle und zuverlässige Produktion von wertvoller Biomasse ermöglichen. CellDEG fokussiert sich auf die Etablierung eines innovativen und hocheffizienten Standardkulturverfahrens im Labormaßstab, welches das volle Potential der Mikroalgen ausschöpft.

Gründungsjahr: 2016
Institut: Institut für theoretische Biologie
Mentor: Dr. Ralf Steuer

URL: www.celldeg.com